School Board Recognitions
  • There are many outstanding students and staff in the Medford School District, and the Medford School District Board of Directors takes time in each regularly scheduled Board meeting to celebrate many of them. Students may be recognized for a variety of areas, including academics, athletics, arts, career and technical education, and music, or as nominated by school district staff. Staff members may also be nominated for exemplary contributions to the district.

  • October 17, 2019

    Spring 2019 Advanced Placement (AP) Scholars
    The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP) provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. Fewer that 20% of the over two million students who take AP Exams earn an AP Scholar Award.

    AP Scholar - Students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.
    AP Scholar with Honor - Students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.
    AP Scholar with Distinction - Students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.
    National AP Scholar - Students who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

    NMHS Scholars

    North Medford High School
    AP Scholar: Frida Cruz ● Daniel Denney ● Abbey Hageman ● Enrique Jaime ● Emily Roeder ● Dane Stewart ● Zoe Walton ● Sophia Elam ● Dawson Isaacs ● Grant Lulich ● Grace Norton
    AP Scholar with Honor: Grace Bryan ● Caleb Farrow ● Eve Nichol ● Kylee Perkins ● Rylie Vallo
    AP Scholar with Distinction: Thomas Hillard ● Parker Landon ● Brenden Pollard ● Nathaniel Reed ● Ammon Ormerod

    SMHS Scholars

    South Medford High School
    AP Scholar: Jesus Cortez Garcia ● Keegan Losinski ● Jessi McPhilomy ● Heidi Oppermann ● Madison Pombo ● Loralie Pulley ● Maryn Ringger ● Mikayla Smith ● Arhe Vaninetti ● Olivia Vogt ● Joseph Vargas
    AP Scholar with Honor: Zoe Allen ● Ellen Delsman ● Kevin Hunt ● Makayla Reiss ● Juan Rios ● Eliza Viden
    AP Scholar with Distinction: Owen Akiyama ● Ashleigh Scheuneman
    National AP Scholar: Lillian Martin

    Exemplary Staff

    Jen McKenzie Award

    Oregon Association of School Librarians Secondary Teacher-Librarian of the Year:
    Jennifer McKenzie of South Medford High School

    Anna Meunier Award

    Oregon Council for Social Studies Elementary Teacher of the Year:
    Anna Meunier of Jacksonville Elementary School

    September 19, 2019

    Speech and Debate - State Placers and National Qualifiers:
    Speech and Debate provides students opportunities to build research and critical thinking skills, confidence in writing and speaking in a variety of situations, and the ability to see things from diverse perspectives. Students compete at a regional, state, and national level.

    South Medford Recipients

    South Medford High School

    State Championships:
    ● Kaden Miller - 3rd place in Duo Interpretation
    ● Ian Grady - 3rd place in Duo Interpretation
    ● Jerrihaun Robinson - 4th in Poetry

    National Qualifiers:
    ● Dominic Adams
    ● Cristien Hernandez
    ● Owen Akiyama
    ● Jerrihaun Robinson

    North Medford High School

    National Qualifier:
    ● Sean Milligan

    SkillsUSA - National Placers:
    SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry working together to ensure America has a skilled workforce. SkillsUSA helps each student excel by providing educational programs, events and competitions that support career and technical education (CTE) in the nation’s classrooms. (Please note that the Board recognized many SkillsUSA state placers and national qualifiers at its meeting last April.)

    McLoughlin Recipients

    McLoughlin Middle School

    National Competition
    ● Myles DeAngelo - Bronze, Middle School Pin Design

    North Student Recipients

    North Medford High School

    National Competition
    ● Daniel Olson - 9th, Technical Drafting
    ● Tanner Stach – 10th, Related Technical Math
    ● Luke Pugliano - 10th, Additive Manufacturing Team
    ● Isaiah Caswell - 10th, Additive Manufacturing Team

    Facilities and Maintenance Department - Exemplary Staff
    Summer is an important time for the Medford School District Facilities and Maintenance Department as it is the opportunity to refresh and deep clean schools as well as to tackle the larger, more invasive projects that make schools safer, more secure, and improve the teaching environment for students.

    Facilities Staff Recipients

    The following staff are recognized for their hard work, dedication, and outstanding performance on a variety of projects in a variety of roles.

    ● Larry Plew - Hoover Seismic Rehabilitation Project
    ● Larry Anderson - Hoover Seismic Rehabilitation Project
    ● Marlon Taylor - Hoover Seismic Rehabilitation Project
    ● Brian Rowlett - Summer Maintenance Efforts
    ● Derek Ophus - Hoover Seismic Rehabilitation Project
    ● Sean Mcnelis - Summer Maintenance Efforts
    ● Perry Dudley - Summer Maintenance Efforts
    ● John Havniear - Ruch Field and Griffin Creek Parking Lot Projects
    ● Jaimi Daniels - Summer Paint Crew
    ● Andy Chasteen - Mechanical Supervisor Performance