Return to Headlines

Superintendent Launches Student Advisory Committee

supt student advisory

Oct. 18, 2017

Superintendent Brian Shumate is pleased to announce the newly formed Superintendent’s Student Advisory Team, which will serve to offer insights about issues affecting local schools and students.

The team, which is made up of 11 elementary, middle, and high school students, met for the first time on Tuesday. Students began by sharing about themselves, what they like about their schools, and areas for improvement. Topics they would like to tackle during the 2017-18 school year include technology, equity, bullying, and educational opportunities for students.

“Listening to student voices is important to me. My goal is to better understand the experiences of our students, so I can better serve them,” said Superintendent Shumate.

During the first meeting with the team, Shumate challenged students to share their perspectives openly and to think big.

The team will meet with Shumate throughout the 2017-18 school year.

Team members include: Brendan Boone from Abraham Lincoln Elementary School, Eddie Crawford from Central Medford High School, Blayke Boutwell from Griffin Creek Elementary School, Abigail Partridge from Hedrick Middle School, Aidric Yates from Jacksonville Elementary School, Brynn Allen from McLoughlin Middle School, Kevin Sanchez from North Medford High School, Rachel Rustad from Oak Grove Elementary School, Emily Ruiz from Oak Grove Elementary School, and Autumn Murray from Ruch Community School.